Hey Everybody…

Sorry…I’ve been pretty busy, or maybe just really lazy to post. So let me knock in a couple posts tonight. This one will be short…

This won’t be a total review of the BrewFest Festival Mike and I went to a few weeks ago. If you want a review, check out Mike’s review here. This is just going to be what not to do as an organizer to a beer festival and then I’ll show you a real beer festival.

First thing not to do…DO NOT have an odd mix of breweries. Mostly because Budweiser was there and their semi-craft beers. Most of these breweries are against what Bud stands for. It’s all about taste and freedom and whatever. I may be wrong but companies like Bud and Coors is the same reason why I have to go to Canada to get a McCaffrey’s Irish Creme Stout. ALSO…where was Dogfish Head? Seriously…they never showed. Heck, they were at the little Coney Island beer festival. Maybe they didn’t approve of Bud being there…HA!

Next thing not to do…Invite the world!!! Wow 12,000+ people. Not enough beer and not enough cheese for burgers. Seriously…who plans to sell 10,000+ burgers but only brings 500 slices of cheese??? FAIL!!! On a more important note, kegs began to kick by the onslaught of thirsty college kids. No, not really college kids, but I did feel like I was at a frat party with all the drunk hipsters in flip flops and sun hats. “DUDE…Frisbee!!”

Quickfire time: Music blew, food lines too long, a section for non-beer?!? We’re on an Island…what can go wrong! Early entry tickets. People cutting lines for beer (hehe)!

All of quickfire has a story but that is totally taking me away from what’s important…beer. So BrewFest was not great but it was an adventure. But what am I comparing this to? We’ll a good friend of mine, Brad, sent me a link from his hometown of London, England. The Great British Beer Festival!!! Just look at it…done right. Beer is there in abundance. It’s also a lot cheaper, although you do have to buy each beer, but that is okay. I’m not paying for beer I don’t care for (Budweiser). It is also handled by an organization that loves beer, CAMRA (Campaign For Real Ale). Basically they are about CASK beers where fermentation naturally makes the bubbles in beer and not a brewer forcing CO2 into it. This festival is in August and I really wish I could go. Definitely check out the website and pictures from last year’s festival. The only complaint might be the music…but hey, when I was in London and walking down Portabello Road (yes, of Disney’s Bedknobs and Broomstick fame), I heard a street band play “Don’t Look Back In Anger” by Oasis with pots and pans. Pretty good…

