Apologies for not updating yesterday, I’ve been battling a bad sinus infection that has sapped my voice, and even the generous amount of beer I administered last night hasn’t destroyed the evil bacteria residing in me. But you know what they say – if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. So tonight I’ll probably be swinging by my favorite bar in Bay Ridge (and really, the only one that respects beer) Ski Bar for Greenport Harbor Night, where 3 taps of this newly-distributed-to-Brooklyn beer will be flowing for only $2.50 a pint – The IPA, a Belgian Ale, and a Summer Ale which I have yet to try, but am excited about.

You know what else I’m excited about? My homebrewed Belgian Saison, which I bottled on Tuesday night, and should be ready for imbibing by next Tuesday. We sampled the yet-to-be-carbonated unfinished brew when we were bottling, and the smell and color were outstanding, but the taste was still getting there. Not bad, just not mature yet. Hopefully a week in the bottles with some priming sugar will turn it from a boy into a man. Yes, I endow gender characteristics to my homebrewed beers. The last batch was kind of a Susan-type beer – I don’t know why, but that’s the name that popped into my head when I thought about the beer. This one is heartier, a beer that looks and smells Like A Man Would. I’ll name it when it fully matures, but suggestions are welcome.

